Chasing 200: Race 1 – 6

We’re 19 days into the new year and I already need a vacation! And I’m not doing a very good job on keeping my resolution of writing more!! But I did pack enough cotton balls for Chili Bowl, so I’m proud of that small accomplishment.

We just got home from Tulsa (and by “just” I mean two days ago) and I’m starting to get settled back in at home… Just in time to leave again! We leave for Phoenix on Thursday to go to the Winter Challenge 360 non-wing races at Canyon Speedway. We were originally supposed to leave on Wednesday, but quickly realized we need to maximize the days we spend at home! Thanks to Southwest and their no-change fees, I got our flights pushed back a day. The dogs are flying with us, so stay tuned on a post about traveling with two four-legged animals – that is if I don’t go crazy first.

Before we got home from the Chili Bowl, Bryan had been gone for almost a month. As a “welcome home” gesture, I made dinner last night… or tried to anyways. I now fully understand why I let Bryan handle the kitchen duties – I’m not very good at it! I made a cheesy chicken spaghetti… turns out you have to bake it for 45+ minutes, not the 10 minutes like I thought. We had our sides as an appetizer and then the rest of the meal about an hour later. One plus side of being on the road – no kitchen!

So let me catch you up on the races – We’re three percent of the way done with the Chasing 200 tour!

Race 1 – Western Springs, New Zealand – The year didn’t start exactly the way we had in mind. Bryan was running 2nd, battling for the lead when he hit a rut in the track and turned himself over. So, on to the next one…

Race 2 & 3 – Cocopah Speedway – Yuma, Arizona – I headed back to Indiana after New Zealand, so I took in Race 2 and 3 from the comfort of our new home! Chevy and I – Stew was too busy chewing on bones, playing with toys, and being Stewart to watch – watched the races on SpeedShift TV. Bryan said he was rusty in the winged car after the first night out, so things can only get better from here… I hope! (After proofreading this, Bryan said I made it sound like he did terrible – He didn’t. He finished 9th the first night and 16th the second night.)

Race 4 – Chili Bowl Race of Champions – Tulsa, Oklahoma – BC ran in the Race of Champions on Tuesday at Chili Bowl. He started 12th and finished 4th, so that was a good start to the week!

Race 5 – Chili Bowl Prelim Night – Tulsa, Oklahoma – Win #1! Bryan swept the night on Friday at Chili Bowl winning his heat race, qualifier, and the feature. Ironically enough, the first thing I sold after the races that night was a Ricky Stenhouse Jr. t-shirt…

Race 6 – Chili Bowl – Tulsa, Oklahoma – Bryan led a bunch of laps… was looking pretty strong… then a fan fell out of the stands. I figured that wasn’t a very good sign, so I took the dogs out for a bathroom break, got another drink, and made it back to my seat in time to watch Rico take the checkered flag for the second year in a row. Bryan and Rico made a late-night Tulsa deal earlier in the week – If Rico won and Bryan happened to finish on the podium, Bryan would catch Rico from his “victory leap.” I would have rather had Bryan win, but catching Rico during his victory celebration was pretty cool. It made for some cool pictures and an even better story that people will probably talk about for a long time!

That’s all for now! Time to go watch another episode of “Making A Murderer.”

Up next – a Racers For Autism recap. It was such an awesome event, it gets its own post!

Leave a Reply

